Ken Owen,
Executive Director

ken@cirweb.org
(805) 448-5726


Elihu Gevirtz,
Operations Manager and Senior Ecologist

elihu@cirweb.org - (805) 448-4175

Since 1989, Rabbi Elihu Gevirtz has worked as an ecologist and land use planner. He has conducted numerous botanical and wildlife surveys in southern and central California, written habitat restoration plans and directed their implementation, written management plans for ecological reserves, mapped vegetation over thousands of acres, collected plant and animal specimens for scientific collections, co-authored County land use policy documents and written numerous CEQA and NEPA documents for local, state and federal government agencies. Prior to coming to CIR, he worked 10 years in Santa Barbara County government as a biologist and planner, 13 years as a private consultant (Condor Environmental Planning Services) and 3 years for environmental consulting firms.


Kevin Thompson,
Project Manager

kevin@cirweb.org
(805) 660-7399


Daniel Hart.jpg

Daniel Hart,
Project Manager

daniel@cirweb.org

Daniel was raised in Appalachia in the Blue Ridge and Smokey Mountains. He grew up enjoying the outdoors through rock climbing, fishing and backpacking. With the outdoors so close to his heart, he pursued an education in turf grass management and soil and water conservation through the University of Georgia and furthered his education at the University of Tennessee studying construction management and landscape design. With a solid foundation in landscaping, Daniel entered the restoration field in 2009 managing the Goleta slough project. With much dedication and passion, he has continued his commitment to restoring our land to it's natural, native state.


Kelle Green,
Nursery Manager

kelle@cirweb.org
(805) 208-5546


Tanner Yould,
Outreach Coordinator

tanner@cirweb.org

Tanner graduated from UC Santa Barbara in 2014 with a BS in Environmental Studies and an emphasis on conservation biology. After time spent working and volunteering for multiple other environmental nonprofits in Santa Barbara, he settled into working as the Outreach and Marketing Coordinator at Channel Islands Restoration. Here at CIR Tanner is in charge of / assists with graphic design, web development, writing columns for the newsletter, social media, IT support, making coffee, comedic relief, fundraising, video editing, events coordination, grant writing, GIS, and more depending on the day of the week. He also occasionally gets let out of the office to assist with field work.
When not working he enjoys rock climbing, kayaking, backpacking, and road tripping and has a goal to see all 59 National Parks.


Nancy Diaz,
Volunteer Coordinator

volunteer@cirweb.org
(805) 448-6203


DSC00719.JPG

Sarah Spellenberg,
Nursery Technician

sarah@cirweb.org